Why does Tomcat 4.1’s fork setting default to "false"??

 

I accidentally deleted my VM running WinXP Pro with Tomcat 4.1 and JSDK 1.4.2.13.  So I had to recreated my VM (now on Virtual PC) but this time using Windows 2000 with Tomcat 4.1 and JSDK 1.4.2.13.

To my surprise, I was getting this error:

org.apache.jasper.JasperException: Unable to compile class for JSP

An error occurred at line: -1 in the jsp file: null

Generated servlet error:
[javac] Compiling 1 source file

I searched the web to look for a solution and a few people (sorry I forgot where I first read it) suggested changing the fork config at <tomcat_home>/conf/web.xml from “false” to “true” (and restart tomcat).

Excerpt below:

….

<servlet>
<servlet-name>jsp</servlet-name>
<servlet-class>org.apache.jasper.servlet.JspServlet</servlet-class>
<init-param>
<param-name>logVerbosityLevel</param-name>
<param-value>WARNING</param-value>
</init-param>
<init-param>
<param-name>fork</param-name>
<param-value>true</param-value>
</init-param>
<load-on-startup>3</load-on-startup>
</servlet>

….

Eureka!  It fixed the problem.

My question is: why does the fork setting default to “false”?

One Response to “Why does Tomcat 4.1’s fork setting default to "false"??”

  1. gabriel Says:

    It should be TRUE for allow compiling jsp files.

    I have same error with you in JBOSS portal 2.42. I changed the param-value to TRUE. But it doesnt work.

    Boring….

Leave a Reply

